Facebook Allegedly Installs User-Tracking Update, Logging Out ALL Accounts to Complete It- Is This True?

Thousands of Facebook users were previously logged out from their accounts involuntarily. The popular social media conducted the alleged accusation last Friday, Jan. 22.

ALL Facebook Accounts Was Previously Logged Out! Rumors Claim FB Installed a User-Tracking Update

(Photo : Photo by Dan Kitwood/Getty Images)
LONDON, ENGLAND – MARCH 25: In this photo illustration the Social networking site Facebook is displayed on a laptop screen on March 25, 2009 in London, England. The British government has made proposals which would force Social networking websites such as Facebook to pass on details of users, friends and contacts to help fight terrorism.

However, the tech giant company did not provide any info why the users were logged out that day. Many speculations claim that Facebook did this so that it can complete its installing of its latest user-tracking update.

According to WUSA9‘s latest report, the company didn’t specify how widespread the massive user logout is. However, many reports explained that the massive log out could have been limited to users on Apple devices, such as iPhones.

Is Facebook’s new user-tracking update true?

USA Today reported that the unexpected massive logged out on the popular social media platform lead to many claims and accusations. Many users claimed that Facebook conducted the massive logged out so that it could track their data and locations.

ALL Facebook Accounts Was Previously Logged Out! Rumors Claim FB Installed a User-Tracking Update

(Photo : Photo by Dan Kitwood/Getty Images)
LONDON, ENGLAND – MARCH 25: In this photo illustration the Social networking site Facebook is displayed on a laptop screen on March 25, 2009 in London, England. The British government has made proposals which would force Social networking websites such as Facebook to pass on details of users, friends and contacts to help fight terrorism.

Also Read: Tesla Employee Sued For Allegedly Stealing ‘Highly Confidential’ Software Code Claims ‘It’s Just a Misunderstanding’

On the other hand, some of the rumors specifically claimed that Facebook did this so that it can complete installing the new user-tracking update that will allow it to track and store all info of its users’ smartphones and other devices.

Speculations claimed that the new update can track the businesses that users visit. Some users even said that Facebook can now do this even if the people are logged out from their accounts. If this is true, then this is a major security and privacy issue.

However, Facebook did provide an explanation as to why there was a massive logged out. The social media company explained that it happened because of a system change.

Facebook’s configuration change

Facebook explained that it conducted a configuration change on Jan. 22. This update is the one that caused some people to be logged out of their FB accounts.

Facebook confirmed that it is currently investigating the issue and said that they are sorry about the inconvenience. On the other hand, other reports stated that the most affected ones are the iPhone users. Although it was a huge incident, the users with TFA or two-factor authentication were able to get back into their accounts with ease.

admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Social Media Cybercrime Reality Hits as North Korean Hacks Targeted Security Researchers

Wed Jan 27 , 2021
North Korean hacker target security researchers  ( Pexels/Soumil Kumar ) A North Korean government hacking group has targeted numerous members of the cybersecurity community, thus engaging in vulnerability research. North Korean hackers target cybersecurity According to Google, the attacks have been identified by TAG or Google Threat Analysis Group, which is a […]